Lay Leaders (Page 2)

Lay Leaders (Page 2)


The Elders, along with the pastoral staff, are the spiritual leaders of our congregation. These leaders form a partnership of mutual support and accountability with the pastoral staff so that spiritual leadership might be a dynamic force in the body of Christ, enabling the church to become all that God wills for it. Though the elders are endowed with authority in the church, the most important characteristics are humility, joy, love, a combination of grace and truth, and a desire for Christlikeness through the power of the Holy Spirit—goals toward which we continually aspire.

Because we believe that God creates men and women as equals (Genesis 1:26-27), and because it is obvious that God endows leadership gifts to both men and women, elders consist of men and women.

Elders are elected for three-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms.

Elders for the 2019-2020 year are Jim Zoller (Secretary), David Mercer (Treasurer), Kathie Brenneman, Dave Brubaker, Jesse Fink, Doug Gaerte, Dick Harter, Don Little, Jan Schilke, Ed Taylor and Matt Webb.


The Trustees are also spiritual leaders, charged with the stewardship of the church’s physical resources (buildings, grounds, vehicles, equipment). While we value the organizational, mechanical and artistic gifts of our Trustees, they are chosen to serve primarily because of their spiritual maturity, sensitivity to the Holy Spirit, and desire to be shaped into the image of Jesus Christ.

The Trustees are elected for three-year terms.

Trustees for the 2019-2020 year are Barb Bates, Dar Beardsley, Harold Blew, Vali Ciobanu, Nathan Danner, Charlie Smith, Michael Spateholts and Matt Woolsey.

Delegates to District Conference

for 2019 are Casda and Nathan Danner, Jonathan Hilsher, Dean Liddick, Carolyn Miller. 

Nominating Committee

LuAnne Brubaker, Bob Danner, and Jill Jordan


Our committees exist to help us carry out the ministry of Christ more effectively. The committees serve as avenues for planning in order to collectively know the mind of Christ for our ministries, for organization in order to most effectively bring to fruition the plans we sense Christ has for us, and for communication in order to encourage, support, equip and assist our ministry volunteers. We believe that our committees are successful when their unseen work is lived out in the seen ministries that they oversee.

Church Committees:

College – Chair: Pastor Paul Shea

Youth – Chair: Pastor Jon Cole

Missions – Chair: Pastor Paul Shea

Children – Co Chairs: Emily Spateholts and Ann McNeill

Assistant Pastor

Paul Shea

Education: B.A. Houghton College; M.Div. Trinity Evangelical Div. Sch.; D. Miss. Trinity Evangelical Div. Sch. Born: Fillmore, NY Previous Ministry: Pastor, Ottawa, IL; Missionary, Sierra Leone; Missions Professor, Houghton College Favorite Authors: John Stott, Lesslie Newbegin, N.T.Wright, C.S.Lewis, Philip Yancey, Andrew Walls. Hobbies: Puttering around house, Golf, Driving, Sports, Reading. Favorite Music: Classical, Jazz, Bluegrass.
Worship Director

Amanda Cox

Education: BMus., Houghton College, MMus., University of Miami Born: Edmonton, Alberta Family: Mike (husband), Evelyn and Grayson Been at HWC since: 2003 Books/Writers that have influenced me: Philip Yancey, Henri Nouwen Hobbies: Reading, Being with family, Watching movies, Playing board games Favorite Music: Meredith Andrews, Laura Story, Taylor Swift, Great Big Sea
  • 1
  • 2